Link

Vocal Fry must die

Click the title to read this awesome blog post by Jayme Soulati as part of the Mentor Me PR Series. She uses a GREAT video, Faith Salie’s CBS News clip, to demonstrate the horrible, horrible speech pattern known as vocal fry. (The second video just seems like click bait.)

I want to get the word out about Vocal Fry because it is the most hideous assault on the ears since the jack hammer. It seems to be contagious as well because I’ve caught myself doing it when I’m around other people who do it. YIKES!

“This American Life,” and one or two reporters on “All Things Considered,” have vocal fry and I will turn off the radio/podcast the minute I hear it. You can sound serious and intelligent without vocal fry. Vocal fry makes people sound pretentious, add in a few likes and a slow eye-roll and you come across like an airhead. Yes, that is how I really feel about it.

Whatever it takes, eliminate vocal fry. It could very well cost you a job. In this blog post, Jayme gives great advice to listen to your own voice – particularly on the phone because that’s where a lot one-on-one contact will be done.

Do you know people who vocal fry?

I’d love to hear from you!

-Tina

1 thought on “Vocal Fry must die

  1. Pingback: What Is Vocal Fry And Your Professionalism | soulati.com

Leave a comment